12 Members of the Class of 2W2 are Inducted into the I.V. Club

Twelve members of the Class of 2W2 were inducted into the prestigious I.V. Club at the 26th Annual Induction Ceremony in the Clara Schrenk Memorial Chapel on May 4th.

The inductees are: Anthony M. Ellis, power plant technology; Ryan M. Fallon, construction technology-masonry; Vincent A. Marinello, construction technology-carpentry; David McCann, horticulture, landscaping and turf management; James I. McChesney, machine tool technology; Levi McCullough, machine tool technology; Raymere A. Stewart, construction technology-masonry; Aaron J. Tallman, machine tool technology; William C. Tilley, construction technology-carpentry; Thomas D. Tobin, power plant technology; Richard S. Torelli Jr., construction technology-carpentry; and Angel T. Velazquez Jr., horticulture, landscaping and turf management.

In her opening remarks, Dr. Michelle T. Williams, vice president of academic affairs/CAO, said to the inductees, “You have exhibited great skill, talent, and leadership and our core values in all areas of your lives. Being inducted into the I.V. Club is an honor and also a call to action. This evening you will pledge to protect and preserve the deed of trust. You are joining a group of men who have been doing this since 1996. You will help to ensure that the legacy of Isaiah Williamson continues.”

Joseph C. Portz 1W5 then read “The Man in the Glass,” a poem about personal integrity.

In his talk on “The Past,” Daniel P. Lannon 0W2 said, “It’s what we do with our past that makes us who we are today. It was not just the trade that helped me become a successful leader. It’s everything else that Williamson preaches that helped me fine-tune my skills to help me become a good member of the community and the industry that I work in. The choices you have made brought you to this point in your life. Keep up the good work.”

John P. Becker 2W1 speaking on “The Present,” said “Williamson has offered guidance in its core values. They form the best how to manual you will ever know. But, the actual choice of how you do things is entirely up to you. Press on, apply yourself, and keep up the good work.”

Before talking on “The Charge for the Future,” President Michael Rounds said, “For the first time in three years, it’s great to have family and friends here for this ceremony. Two years ago, it was completely virtual.”

He then said, “You are not just receiving an award, you are resolving to take up a challenge. You have been singled out to receive a special charge. The I.V. Club was created to establish a cadre of men with the capacity and willingness to protect and preserve Williamson College of the Trades, to ensure Williamson remains true to its past and adapts to an unknown future. You are being charged with protecting the deed of trust. Your charge is to project this institution.”

Kevin Hatch 0W8 led the induction as each inductee had a club pin fastened to his jacket by a club member and then received the Deed of Trust and a certificate.

The members of the I.V. Club who participated in the pinning ceremony were: Philip Bachetti 9W9, Joseph Daciw 0W3, Sam Gingery 2W0, Joseph Galbraith 2W0, Corey Jackson 0W3, Ed Scarpignato 0W5, Jacob Stover 0W6, Ronald Van 1W7, and Kevin Welde 9W7.

Mark Specht 7W7, chaplain, opened the ceremony with an invocation and closed it with the singing of the alma mater, led by the Artisans, and the benediction.

2022-05-12T08:48:25-04:00 May 12th, 2022|